Number System and its Types

In this tutorial, you will learn about computer number system along with its types. Let's start the tutorial with definition of number system.

Definition of Number System

Number system defines a set of value used to represent quantity.

Number system is a language of digital system consisting of a set of symbol called digits with rules defined for addition, multiplication and other mathematical operation.

Base or radix of a number system is the number of symbol used in its representation.

Types of Number System

There are four types of number system in general:

  1. Decimal number system
  2. Binary number system
  3. Octal number system
  4. Hexadecimal number system

Bases of all Number Systems

There are various types of number system available as given in the following table with its base/radix:

Number System Base
Binary 2
Octal 8
Decimal 10
Hexadecimal 16

Symbols used in Number System

The decimal number system uses 10 symbols, that are 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9.

The binary number system uses only 2 symbols, that are 0 and 1.

The octal number system uses 8 symbols, that are 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7.

The hexadecimal number system uses 16 symbols, that are 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, A, B, C, D, E, F.

Decimal Number System

The decimal number system is also called as the base-10 system because it has total of 10 digits to use, that are from 0 to 9.

decimal number system

Binary Number System

Binary number system is the most important and valuable number system from all the number system for computer point of view. As we all knows that a computer can not operate on the decimal or any other number system because it only operates using binary logic.

This number system only uses 2 digits or symbols, that is 0 and 1. Or we can says that this system will only depends/operates on 0 and 1 basis.

binary number system

Octal Number System

Octal number system uses digits from 0 to 7, that is total of 8 digits or symbols.

octal number system

Hexadecimal Number System

This number system uses 16 digits or symbols. In 16 digits, 10 digits are from 0 to 9 and other 6 are from A to F.

hexadecimal number system

Number System Conversion

Now we will talk about conversion from one number system to another number system with its step by step explanation. Here are the list of conversion that are going to be discussed from next tutorial.

From next page, you will see all the conversion with its step by step working rule.

Computer Fundamental Online Test

« Previous Tutorial Next Tutorial »

Like/Share Us on Facebook 😋